Libraries – One of Our Liberties

Sara Kelly Johns shared this wonderful article on NYLINE.  Fight for Libraries As You Fight For Freedom (link listed below).  I hope librarians and “civilians” alike will share it with their staff, administration and everyone on their home email lists as well.

I was out and about on Saturday – a truly beautiful day.  I wished I had my camera with me, not only to photograph the beautiful day, but also to take pictures of the packed parking lot at a nearby public library.  I also wanted to video the families walking to the library carrying shopping bags full of books.  In good times and especially in bad times, the library is a destination.  This library was an affluent neighborhood.  Chances are most people had an internet connection at home.  The library is STILL a destination – a fun family excursion with something for everyone.  Somehow the “powers that be” don’t realize that.  I don’t understand why.

I am grateful that Karin Slaughter has written such a powerful argument for libraries.  And grateful to Sara for sharing it.  Now let’s pay it forward!

Karin Slaughter. Fight for Libraries As You Fight For Freedom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *