iPad!!!

I’ve got an iPad. The price was right.  FREE!  I got it because I am a member of our area Teacher Resource Center policy board.  We get to study them, use them in our schools, and post our experiences to a wiki.

So….I need HELP!!  I am very comfortable playing around – but am afraid I will miss important features.

My must pressing question at the moment is downloading books.  I have downloaded Kindle books via Kinde for ipads, and of course I have downloaded some from the (very limited) iBooks store.  My problem?  I don’t want to spend money on books. Why would I EVER pay for a book that I only want to read once.

I tried to download a book  from the public library – but their ebooks require Adobe ePUB.  I looked for an app that might replace it – but had no luck.   Will keep looking.  Not sure an app would work anyway.  In order to download a book, they require you to download ePub – and that just results in an error message.

Any ideas for me?

5 thoughts on “iPad!!!

  1. I’m not sure what grades you teach or if you like sci-fi, but you can download all of Cory Doctrow’s books for free. He has written a few nonfiction books about technology, but my favorite book is “Little Brother”. A bridge is blown up in San Fransico and some teenagers who happen to be in the wrong place at the wrong time are suspected of being terrorists. Once they are released they decide to fight the system. Very scary, but full of action.
    His website is http://craphound.com/. He is also a writer for boingboing.net

  2. Yes. I am exploring that option right now. But I want to be able to read newer books for free. Not greedy – just looking for that free public library service that is the world’s greatest idea! In my humble opinion 🙂

  3. Thanks so much Chris! Any ideas when libraries might get themselves compatible for downloading to the ipad? Loving the reading experience on it right now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *