Books? Screens? Whatever it takes!

From the NYTimes: The Library through Students’ Eyes

After a Room for Debate discussion last week, “Do School Libraries Need Books?” the comments from readers included some first-hand views from students. Below are excerpts of their observations on how studying has changed, how they use libraries (if at all) and how to use the space differently.

I can hear echos of my own  students in some of these comments.  I was pleasantly surprised that most of these young commenters were favorably inclined towards libraries.  But I still see the absolute equation of library = books.  I would be happier to see the equation of library = reading and learning and gathering place.    “Reading and learning” is a way bigger concept than ANY container,  books OR screen.

I must say I was quite charmed by this particular student comment:

The Art of Looking for Answers
What a question! The richest part of my elementary, middle, and high school education was the fruit of my reading from the library. I no longer use trigonometry, I don’t refer to the periodic table, and I don’t build models of volcanoes. I’ve given up diagramming sentences or memorizing spelling words but I read every day. The school library, with its treasures waiting to be uncovered is an amazing resource – especially in an age where we are “directed” to the answers so often. If you want to abolish libraries, join the Taliban or at least soak your head.

The Art of Looking for Answers

What a question! The richest part of my elementary, middle, and high school education was the fruit of my reading from the library. I no longer use trigonometry, I don’t refer to the periodic table, and I don’t build models of volcanoes. I’ve given up diagramming sentences or memorizing spelling words but I read every day. The school library, with its treasures waiting to be uncovered is an amazing resource – especially in an age where we are “directed” to the answers so often. If you want to abolish libraries, join the Taliban or at least soak your head.

It all comes down to these kids.  Whatever we need to do to keep them coming to the library is what we need to do!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *