Keeping Your Administration Informed

I’ve only read half the article so far – but I am very impressed with it.
Absolutely – this would be a terrific article to pass on to your admin.  Because they are so busy – you could pass on a highlighted printed copy.  I’d email them the link and let them know that you have also sent them a print copy.  Then Highlight the title and some pertinent sentences in the print copy to serve as an “executive summary”.
>>> On 1/21/2010 at 9:18 AM, in message <DD348FEE1F20E44CBE82AF13FA94ABEE0437E850@exchange.MidlakesCSD.org>, “Hamel, Melanie” <MHamel@midlakes.org> wrote:
Jacquie,
A good article on the importance of school libraries:
http://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2010/01/06/16chapman.h29.html
Is this the kind of article I should email my Principal and
Superintendent?

My latest mentor question:

Jacquie,

A good article on the importance of school libraries:

Education Week
Proficient Readers Need Good School Libraries

By Gaby Chapman

Is this the kind of article I should email my Principal and Superintendent?

I’ve only read half the article so far – but I am very impressed with it.   Will read the rest tonight.

Absolutely – this would be a terrific article to pass on to your admin.  Because they are so busy – you could give them a brief “executive summary”.

I’d email them the link and let them know that you have also sent them a print copy.  Before you put the print copy in their mailboxes, you should highlight the title and some pertinent sentences.  They are more likely to take the time to read the whole article if the most important details stand out.   And if they never get around to reading the whole thing – at least they’ve read the most important bits.

One thought on “Keeping Your Administration Informed

  1. Just a heads up. Some of your readers may not be able to read the article if they are not subscribers to Education Week. I was able to read it since I am a student at UB.
    Great article that seems like common sense to me…but sadly not to others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *