Global Warming Comes to Web 2.0!!!

Don’t cringe Mr. Gore.  In this case – I mean “global warming” in a good sense.

As you probably know, I have been promoting Web 2.0 applications while at the same time throwing  myself at a seemingly insurmountable ice-berg …. our very restrictive content filter.

Our district has recently formed a technology committee charged with creating a vision for 21st century learning and seeing that the vision is implemented.   I am fortunate enough to be on the committee.

During our first meeting, the issue of Web 2.0 came up and our superintendent asked me to prepare a presention to the committee at out next meeting.

What a great opportunity!  But – how on earth do you get across the exciting possibilities without overwhelming folks with information?

Evidently, it must have been successful.  The presentation was very well recieved by the committee.   They asked great questions and we talked constructively about some of the barriers, such as teacher training and the content filter.

To make it even better,  our superintendent called today, asking if I could repeat the presentation for our school board next Wednesday.

Wish me luck!!

2 thoughts on “Global Warming Comes to Web 2.0!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *