Feeling Stressed? Just Say No!!

LM_NET has a conversation going on right now about stress. One librarian wants to leave the profession completely because of it. Some of us might be thinking that retirement looks better every day.

I am feeling a bit hassled myself these days. I would kill for a day where I can just sit down and sip mint juleps and read one of the million plus books on my “must read” list. No computers, no phones, no demands. Ahhh! True peace and quiet. Yes – February break is next week – but it is filled with doctor appointments and prepping for an uncoming workshop. Sigh…..

Anyway – I fired off some “advice” to the stressed librarian. Now I just have to follow my own “words of wisdom”. I had a stressful year a few years ago. 4 resolutions got me out of my funk – but I have been breaking those resolutions big time these days.

So….starting tomorrow, I hearby resolve:

  1. Say no more often. Which committee should I give up? (School Improvement committee; Curriculum Committee; Literacy Committee; 21st Century Learning Committee)
  2. Take a planning period every day – and write it on the calendar so I don’t forget. I will go into my office and hang up a sign that says “Do not disturb unless you are on fire”.
  3. Stop eating lunch at my desk.
  4. Go home earlier. I guess folks would notice if I left at noon…… Still, I don’t think anyone will notice if I quit staying an hour or more beyond the end of the teacher day.

Just getting it all down in print might help. Let’s see how I am doing in a month’s time…..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *