First Amendment Under Attack

Donald Trump is a danger to democracy. I remember the scenes in this video from the nightly news folks. They formed my strongly held beliefs in civil rights. If somehow the plight of the protesters in the 60s civil rights era does not move you – please broaden the message of this video. Trump would do everything possible to silence ANYONE who disagrees with him. It is our first amendment rights we need to defend. Can we say “Nazi Germany”?

Trump’s violent rhetoric and bigotry aren’t new to America…

2 thoughts on “First Amendment Under Attack

  1. Wow! This is the most moving and effective video to convey this message! It gives me chills. What bothers me more than anything is to see some of my Facebook friends, who are educated, religious, and otherwise have my respect, but they post the most hateful things and have apparently fallen under this man’s spell. Like you, I am truly frightened but at a loss as to how to make a difference. I fear I’m like the average German citizen in the ’30s.

  2. I wonder if other people – especially younger people – just don’t have the memories we do. Not that I lived through Nazi Germany, but the war was still in the news as I was growing up….as were these images of protesters being cruelly treated, and young black children and teenagers being assaulted for wanting to go to school. We seem to have lost all ability to see/feel things from another person’s point of view. Truly scary days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *