Retired old codger?

OK.  Now Doug Johnson is making fun of me!  🙂

Has retirement made an old codger of me?  (Have you noticed that there appears to be no female counterpart to the word codger?  Men can be irascible and loveable. Women apparently are just “old bags”!) Have I been reduced to starting all my sentences with “Hmmmpff!”?  Have I become ….gulp!…. a Republican?  You know – resistant to a changing world, unable to embrace anything new, paralyzed in the past?  Sorry – my political prejudices are showing.  Don’t hate me.  Some of my best friends are Republicans….but my Irish-American and British Labour Party forebears would turn over in their graves at the very thought.

OK – it is with much disgruntlement that I embark on giving Feedly a go.  Mainly I was ticked off at Google for giving so little notice.  Doug tells me that we have till June 1 – but the message I got before I commented on his blog was that we had to make the switch by March 20.  Perhaps I misread it. Failing eyesight you know…

Interesting take-away as I transition from GR to Feedly….  I am struck by the preference of graphic literacy vs print literacy.  All of the feeds default to “magazine view”.  I much prefer title view as this allows me to quickly scan the titles to decide which ones to read.  I am evidently able to “drink in” and digest great hunks of text in seconds.  The graphics are pretty – but they confuse me.  I am obviously very graphically illiterate.  The riot of color and images just  muddles my mind.

As near as I can figure – I have to change EVERY SINGLE BLOG feed to “title view” one at a time.  If anyone knows a way to do this in “one-fell-swoop” – please share.  The flip side  of my annoyance of having to go through the feeds one at a time is that it gives me the chance to weed-out the defunct blogs.

Where does a defunct blog go?  Bleaven? Blell? Blurgatory? Blimbo?  How does one mourn the death of a blog?  I SO miss Alice In Infoland’s Blog! I did NOT delete it. There is so much there to go back to and savor….

 

4 thoughts on “Retired old codger?

  1. Hi Jacquie,

    Don’t you think curmudgeon is gender neutral? And I think you’d need to ask my wife just how “loveable” living with an old crank can be 😉

    Somehow I got my Feedly to show each item by heading, but given my faltering memory, I don’t remember how. I do like the appearance of the Feedly posts – much more attractive than Reader. But I am still getting used to the new interface.

    Maybe I will go back to Bloglines – which I abandoned for reader many years ago!

    I don’t sense you are getting senile so I highly doubt you are turning Republican.

    Doug

  2. According to Merriam-Webster: “curmudgeon: a crusty, ill-tempered, and usually old man.”

    But I will assume that women can be the exception to the rule!! And much preferable to “old bag”. Though I actually have fond memories of that term. My Irish (and fiercely Democratic) grandmother used to sign her letters to me TOB – short for “the old bag”. And I am certainly relieved that I am not senile!!!

  3. I was really ticked about Google Reader going by the wayside too. I was busy researching what best to switch to.

    Still not sure. I don’t like change…perhaps it is because I am (ahem)…Republican?

  4. As I said….some of my BEST friends are Republican =) Actually – MOST of my best friends are Republican. Go figure!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *