A Great Honor

I just wanted to share….
Last night was the Senior Banquet.  Traditionally, the yearbook is given out to the seniors and the yearbook dedication is announced.  I am very proud, and incredibly touched, that the yearbook was dedicated to me.
Yes – the first name is spelled wrong, but that is OK.  The kids are in charge of the editing – and they had no idea I spelled it differently.
It was a lovely way to end the year with this year’s great crop of seniors.  I will miss them all – especially my incredible  “lunch bunch”.
P.S.  The sign I am holding says “Never give up. It took me 30 years to finally graduate!!”
Dedication

8 thoughts on “A Great Honor

  1. Congratulations, Jacquie! Very well-deserved. You have brough so much to your students’ lives and to the library world as a whole, not to mention how valuable your knowledge and contributions have bee to all of us in Wayne-Finger Lakes! Judy

  2. Congratulations, Jacquie!!! No one is more deserving of this honor! You have always been a mentor to me. You are a wonderful librarian and I will greatly miss you!!! Enjoy retirement! I know you will:)

  3. Noooo – you are not really leaving.Most of us can keep in touch by reviewing your blog, but your school will definitely miss you. You are a positive role model and I thank you for all the help you’ve given me. Congratulations for your honor and Best Wishes on your retirement.

  4. What a wonderful, and I am sure well-deserved, tribute! Congratulations and thanks for sharing with your non-student fans.

    Doug

  5. Thanks so much to everyone for your kind words. It is so hard to believe that I will not be back next year. This library feels like home, and I will miss all of you and my other “library friends” every day. Will I miss the 5:15 alarm? Not so much! I hope to continue to see you at future workshops and conventions. I have to convince my hubby that the SLMS convention is something to budget for every year! It might not be a big job convincing him. He always likes to drop me off and go out antiquing or photographing.

  6. What a wonderful tribute to a terrific school librarian! You’ve been a great example to me and, I’m sure, many others in our field. Happy retirement, but please keep coming to the SLMS conference and giving us the benefit of your experience and wisdom. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *