Libraries Obsolete?

Yes – some in the library world have been oblivious to the systemic
change brought about by new technologies.  But many have been on the
forefront of  that change.  Doug Johnson, Joyce Valenza, Buffy Hamilton,
Cathy Jo Nelson – just to name a very few.
I recently read a blog post, and saved it to think and write about in
the future.
Here are some excerpts:
Be an agent for the customer: Hospitality Revisited
http://tinyurl.com/2g5sbn3
…the difference between Agents and Gatekeepers …(from Danny Meyer’s
book, “Setting the Table”)
“An agent makes things happen for others. A gatekeeper sets up barriers
to keep people out. We’re looking for agents… did I present myself as
an agent or a gatekeeper? In the world of hospitality, there’s rarely
anything in between.”
I think the librarian as “agent that makes things happen” is where we
should be.  And the library should be the place where everything
happens.  Librarians are the ones in the strongest position to be an
agent for change in our schools.  We know the curriculum, we know the
teachers, we know the students, we know the technology. The library
should be the place where we move heaven and earth to bring all these
things together to educate students. If gates and barriers are put up in
front of students and teachers, it is the librarian’s job to find a way
around, over or under those barriers to bring kids together with the
tools they need to become 21st century creative learners.
I plan to ask myself this question frequently in the future:  “In this
situation, am I an agent or a gatekeeper?”

That question was posted on LM_NET this week.  The original post placed some blame on the failure of library leaders to adapt to technological change.

Yes – some in the library world have been oblivious to the systemic change brought about by new technologies.  But many have been on the forefront of  that change. Doug Johnson, Joyce Valenza, Buffy HamiltonCathy Jo Nelson – just to name a very few.

I recently read a blog post – Be an agent for the customer: Hospitality Revisited.

Here is an excerpt:

…the difference between Agents and Gatekeepers …(from Danny Meyer’s book, “Setting the Table”) … An agent makes things happen for others. A gatekeeper sets up barriers to keep people out. We’re looking for agents… did I present myself as an agent or a gatekeeper? In the world of hospitality, there’s rarely anything in between.”

I think the librarian as “agent that makes things happen” is where we belong.

The library should be the place where everything happens.  Librarians are the ones in the strongest position to be an agent for change in our schools.  We know the curriculum, we know the teachers, we know the students, we know the technology. The library should be the place where we move heaven and earth to bring all these  things together to educate students. If gates and barriers are put up in front of students and teachers, it is the librarian’s job to find a way around, over or under those barriers to bring kids together with the tools they need to become 21st century creative learners.

I plan to ask myself this question frequently in the future:  “In this situation, am I an agent or a gatekeeper?”

2 thoughts on “Libraries Obsolete?

  1. Thanks for the nod, but I often feel I am more a “wannabe” especially when Doug, Joyce, or Buffy are mentioned. But I do call them friends –and face to face ones at that, not just virtual. I do feel as the information landscape changes, we must position ourselves to be knowledgeable and advocate in our roles for understanding how to access, use, and even repackage the information available in print and YES, online in so many different formats!! I like ti think I am a catalyst for change–a change agent in the library. So thanks for the nod.

  2. almost missed your comment. I usually get an email notification of new comments … But not this time for some reason.

    You might think of yourself as a wannabe….but I always look forward to your insightful posts. I’ve met Doug at a conference. I read all his posts and his sense of humor really tickles me. Someday I might end up at a conference & get a chance to meet you, Joyce & Buffy. I am just pleased there are so many strong voices out there…and that the Internet gives us a chance to have a virtual conversation!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *