eBooks in Libraries

Although I do not (yet) use an eBook reader – this video makes me think we’d better figure out a way to get them  into our libraries – fast!

I did experiment with using my netbook to read a whole book.  It was not as bad an experience as I thought it would be.  I still can’t see myself jumping in soon. The iPad IS tempting….  But I think I will wait awhile and see if they build a good (and cheap) ebook store, and if it will run the ebooks I can download from my public library.

2 thoughts on “eBooks in Libraries

  1. We just went over eBooks in my computer applications class. I don’t have a much experience with them, but I got an opportunity to try my brother-in-laws for about 45 minutes. He had gotten a “Nook” for Christmas. There were a bunch of classics on it already. I started reading Pride and Prejudice to see what it was like. I didn’t think it was so bad either. I expected it to be annoying to my eyes, but it wasn’t.
    I think I would like to own one some day…but I can’t see the old fashioned book going obsolete just yet.
    (and yes, I figured out the problem with posting on your blog!)

  2. Glad that you can post again!!

    I am REALLY coveting the iPad. But I hear that it is completely proprietary software. I think they have a great product – but if they are not going to allow folks to play other formats – then I am not interested. The Apple folks are always bad mouthing Microsoft for being a monopoly – but they appear to be the worst of them all. If you want to use their products, you are forced into using thier formats.

    Until ebook software gets standardized – I can’t see it working well for libraries. Sort of like way back – the Beta and VHS wars.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *