You mean we have to actually READ this stuff?

In a recent post about 9th grade research, I quoted a student who was horrified at the thought of actually READING his/her sources.

Well – today I found the REAL downside of not reading before you print or take notes.

The topic? Festivals & Holidays in the Middle Ages

The source? “Easter Uprising in Ireland.” The Dorling Kindersley History of the World.

I feel like I am channeling Linda Richman from SNL:

Linda

I am a little verklempt.  Talk among yourselves.  I’ll give you a topic. “The Easter Uprising was neither medieval nor a holiday”.  Discuss.

2 thoughts on “You mean we have to actually READ this stuff?

  1. Actually – they are what get me through the day. They also remind me exactly WHERE my kids are. We truly can’t assume background knowledge.

    Glad you enjoyed it. And besides…it gave me a chance to channel my favorite SNL recurrent character 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *