Lacuna

I just finished reading The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver.   You should read it – for the  beauty of the words, for the friendships you will form there, and for the view of a past world.  I thought I knew the facts of  the “red scare”  – but in reality I did not know at all.   Throughout the book, I continually checked the historical accuracy of the events and  was astounded at what I did not know.  Perhaps because I was a child during the later years if the story, absorbing the talk I heard around me, but not studying for myself…..

We live in such times.  Although our times appear unique to us –  it has all gone before.   Read this book to know the importance of freedom…..what it truly is, and the importance of growing a back bone to preserve it for ourselves and others.  And as you read, savor the words of a truly gifted writer.

One thought on “Lacuna

  1. I will definitely read this. I had already been eying this book. I read The Poisonwood Bible and loved it. However, I am taking YA lit this semester and won’t get to this until summer. I’m too busy reading things like Hotlanta and Gossipgirl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *