E-Mail & Online Distractions Getting You Down?

An interesting article appeared in the New York Times a few days ago. Lost in E-Mail, Tech Firms Face Self-Made Beast By MATT RICHTEL Published: June 14, 2008.

It is another article pointing to the fact that literacy in a 24/7 connected world is different than the linear literacy we learned in school. Would love to read articles on techniques to teach students how to better understand the information and keep focused on their topic as they jump from hyperlink to hyperlink.

Here is my own personal solution – though I am not very good at forcing myself to do it.

My office does not have a computer. So – when I am feeling overwhelmed, I hide in there. I bring in work that can be done without a computer, along with print-outs of online lesson plans or whatever I am currently focused on. I’ve hung a sign on my door that says: “Do not disturb unless you are on fire.”

Now – if I could just force myself to get away from email, et al long enough……

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *