Why isn’t the word getting around??

What do librarians have to do to convince folks that the library and the internet are intertwined? Why do folks see the library as the old way (Boo!) and the internet as the new way (Yay!!) that has replaced libraries?

For the second time this week, I ran across the term “ha-ha” in reference to landscape architecture. So – of course I immediately went to the internet to find the definition. Yay!! The NEW way. So much better and more convenient than the library – especially since the library is closed right now. I did two searches. First I went to Wikipedia which gave me an excellent summary and provided pictures. For my purposes this was enough. So, I guess I can understand why most people would think that this is proof that libraries might as well close thier doors and donate their books for use as an alternative fuel to save the planet.

It got me thinking though. The information from the Wikipedia article and its associated links would not be nearly enough for someone studying landscape architecture as a career. So – I went out and did a Google search. It was much harder to locate relevant articles. The BEST I found was for a book called “Where Land and Water Intertwine” By Christopher Weeks, Michael O. Bourne. Google Books provides a limited preview to this book. A quick search of it shows me (posing as a landscape architect student) that I have found exactly what I need. A few clicks and I can purchase it used for around $10, new for $25 – or I can click the “find it in a library” link (World Cat), copy the location information and send an email to my friendly public, school or college library to borrow it for free.

World Cat is the science fiction fantasy that librarians started to construct in the distant reaches of time. I recall learning about it in the late 60’s. It wasn’t brand new then. I remember creating an extra catalog card for every book we purchased back in the early 80s when our school library system was born. All to go into the “great catalog in the sky” that one day would be available to all. Well – one day is here.

If they build it they will come? I don’t know…… I don’t think the message is getting out.

I need to work harder on this. It’s not just the college librarian’s job.

….And yes… Maybe some day you will be able to download the book to your Kindle, iPod, iPhone et al. Doesn’t change things. (Unless artists & writers figure out how to make money by giving all their works away for free). Libraries will STILL be the ones providing free access. Those with the means and the need to own the downloads, will buy access. Others can still get the best deal in town from their local library. Not to mention, the ability to attend community events and have some quality face-time with other humans 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why isn’t the word getting around??

  1. “Unless artists & writers figure out how to make money by giving all their works away for free.” Can’t you just see it…every chapter will end with advertising! While I’m reading “Twilight” I’ll get trailers for vampire movies, and there will be ads for prescription drugs in the middle of the latest romance novel…

  2. And how ironic that with the new edublogs format the phrase “prescription drugs” in your comment now has an ad attached to it. GRRRR!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *