1930s Germany Redux?

Good reading in this morning’s newspaper.  First was an excellent letter to the editor comparing the mood in our country right now to the atmosphere in Germany that led to Hitler.  I am SO afraid that we are going down that path.

The second reading was an editorial by Leonard Pitts.  I know.  Many think of Pitts as a flaming liberal, but please read what he has to say.  I read the conservative viewpoints regularly.  Many of them have very valid points.  I have even been able to agree with a few (very few) statements made by – ugh – Cal Thomas. It takes effort for me to force myself to read what he says – but I do it just so I don’t lean so far left that I collapse.

Both these readings help me understand …a little…why so many people are supporting Trump. It has been inexplicable to me thus far. I cannot understand how anyone can support this travesty of a human being.  Today, Leonard Pitts described him as a “vulgar, narcissistic bigot with the impulse control of a sleep-deprived toddler”.  That pretty well sums up my mental image of the man. However, Pitts went on to examine why so many support him, and how the country needs to respond to those very real problems, which they somehow think only Trump can fix.  He really helped me understand.

Much to think about in these two articles.  I cannot find a link to the letter, but below is a link to the essay by Leonard Pitts.

Leonard Pitts Jr.: What to do after Donald Trump

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *