Paleo Maryland Crab Cakes

Another savory grain-free recipe.

(I made a number of changes to this Paleo recipe I found online. My adjustments are in parentheses)

Ingredients

1 large egg

2 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (such as Tabasco(R))

1/4 teaspoon lemon juice

1 1/2 teaspoons seafood seasoning, such as Old Bay(TM)

ground black pepper to taste

1 pound fresh lump crabmeat (I used three 6 oz cans of Trader Joe’s cabmeat)

1/4 cup almond flour (I used almost 1/2 cup)

1 tablespoon finely diced red pepper

2 teaspoons sliced green onion

1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley

1/3 cup almond flour (I used at least twice this amount)

Directions

Grease a baking sheet. (I used parchment paper)

Whisk together egg, mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, lemon juice, seafood seasoning, and black pepper in a bowl.

Place crab meat in a separate bowl and pour egg and mayonnaise mixture in; gently combine with hands. (I simply added the crab to the mixture to save dish washing)

Mix in 1/4 cup almond flour, peppers, green onions, and parsley.

Form mixture into 6 patties. (I formed six balls and squeezed out the excess water)

Place 1/3 cup almond flour in a shallow bowl. Dredge each cake (ball) in almond flour and set on prepared sheet pan; (flatten the balls into patties on the baking sheet); refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).

Bake crab cakes in the oven until golden brown, 15 to 20 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *