The Aromas of Christmas

MMMmmmmmm…… I have just spent my favorite “week before Christmas” day. Making Pineapple-Date Christmas Pudding. Yummy. My “kids” still act like I am trying to poison them when I make this. Still – there is nothing that says Christmas more to me than the cinnamon-nutmeg smell of puddings steaming on the stove.

Such a satisfying day. One pudding on the table cooling, one more steaming in the dutch oven, and two more small ones waiting to be steamed.

I even experimented and used Jules Gluten Free Flour to make a gluten free version. It came out perfectly, and I can’t tell the difference in taste. If you decide to try out my recipe, be sure to use Jules flour.  Other gluten free flours need to have xanthum gum added, and I would have no idea how much.

I was enjoying the fruits of my labor while watching NCIS.They played a lovely song at the end of the show. Research lead me to this article:

Song Of Kindness Resonates With RIS Singers which talks about the song “Nothing More”

“…the Connecticut-based indie rock band Alternate Routes…. led by founding band members Tim Warren and Eric Donnelly… was at the school for a run-through of their original song, “Nothing More,” which they will perform with the students at the January winter concerts.  Half of the proceeds from the sales of “Nothing More” on iTunes support the Newtown Kindness projects.

So – make yourself some Christmas pudding and get onto iTunes.  You will be glad you did!

Here is the pudding recipe:

Pineapple-DateChristmasPudding

 

 

ChristmasPudding

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *