The Circle of Computer Life

Well – RIP old Hard Drive.  Long live our new system! We went to Best Buy to purchase a new PC desktop and laptop.  I have never been interested in purchasing Apple computers because of the price and because my hubby finds it VERY difficult to adjust to new operating systems.  However, one look at Windows 8 made us realize that there was going to be a big learning curve even with a PC.  Since Bob is a photographer extraordinaire – we were willing to consider an Apple.  The next hurdle was the price.  Looking at Apple products can give one a huge case of sticker shock.  I am hoping that the change will be good for us … kind of like spending more money on organic food.  We’ve made THAT transition already and it has been a good one for us.  And yes – I know about the study that says organic is not nutritionally superior.  But the same study indicates that organic definitely contains fewer artificial and toxic substance such as pesticides.  That was the main reason for the switch anyway.

Well –  long story short – we are now what my son refers to as Apple Snobs.  I am working hard to make the mental shift needed to use an Apple computer – but it is finally beginning to sink in a little so I am not spending as much time hunting around for stuff.

My main hope for the switch is that the huge money investment will pay off.  That was the hardest part of the switch.  Macs sure are expensive little buggers.

Unexpectedly, the set up was a little confusing to me.  I couldn’t seem to get rid of the annoying voice over.  I am one who finds voice instructions very annoying,  Once I got rid of that – then things went well.  I have an iPad, so I knew it would connect easily to the wifi etc. – so I was surprised how much trouble I had navigation through the basic setup.  But I made it and everything else seems to be going smoothly.  I have ordered a few books to help with the transition.  I do learn a lot by checking menus etc. – but there are always little tips and tricks that help and that newbies don’t know enough to know what it is they don’t know!

Most of all – I hope to not go through another install for the next 8 years!  Am I dreaming?

Wish us well!

2 thoughts on “The Circle of Computer Life

  1. My husband and I have already decided that our next computer will be a Mac. Everyone we know who has one seems to love it. I’ve never heard anyone say, “I wish I had stayed with Windows.” They are less susceptible to viruses and from what I’ve heard, Apple is very friendly with fixing problems.

    In the meantime we are with windows.

  2. It definitely is a learning curve. Many say that it is intuitive. I tend to disagree. At least not if you are a long time PC user like me. It is a shift in thinking – and a change in muscle memory. Even the scrolling is opposite of what you think. You scroll upwards if you want to see the lower part of pages and downwards if you want to see the top of the page. Weird. The close and minimize buttons are on the left side, rather than the right side. The program menus are confusing at first since they look more like the operating system menus. Wherever you used the control button for shortcuts such as copy,cut,paste etc. – on a Mac you use the command button. That would be easy to adapt to – except they also have a control button which is used very rarely. I swear it is there to make PC users feel stupid.

    But I am getting used to it. And if it lasts longer than the @#% PCs, I will be very happy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *