GLBT Fiction & Coffee

Does anyone know of really upbeat fiction titles with GLBT characters?
I am feeling frustrated about how “dark” all the literature is.  I don’t
want to be Polyanna and act as if problems don’t exist.  It just seems
that so many of the plot lines are relentlessly depressing and
discouraging.
A favorite former student and I have stayed in contact over the years.
I will never forget asking him what he thought of the latest Rainbow
Boys book.  He sighed and said that he was really sick of gay
problem/coming-out stories.  He said “For God’s sake, don’t gay people
ever just go out for a cup of coffee!”  He was longing to find books
with characters who just happened to be gay.  I’ve been searching ever
since without a whole lot of success.
Ideas???

I just posted this on LM_NET.  I hope to get some good suggestions.

Does anyone know of really upbeat fiction titles with GLBT characters? I am feeling frustrated about how “dark” all the literature is.  I don’t want to be Polyanna and act as if problems don’t exist.  It just seems that so many of the plot lines are relentlessly depressing and discouraging.

A favorite former student and I have stayed in contact over the years. I will never forget asking him what he thought of the latest Rainbow Boys book.  He sighed and said that he was really sick of gay problem/coming-out stories.  He said “For God’s sake, don’t gay people ever just go out for a cup of coffee?!”

He was longing to find books with characters who just happened to be gay.  I’ve been searching ever since without a whole lot of success.

Ideas???

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *